Real women “Emotional”- Pirelli

Today I got my inspiration from the Pirelli 2017 calendar, it has to be a January favourite. Peter Lindbergh is the photographer and he marks the calendar with images that have not been retouched. The new calendar is a come back to natural beauty, to the real woman. “Beauty is just commercial interest, as you see in magazines, women are washed out from every experience. That´s just the opposite of what I wanted. These are the most talented women and I admire in the entire world. They are emotional and I wanted to show that” – by Lindbergh at the official press conference in Paris.

The calendar has been titled “Emotional” and shows beauty in black and white. The women we find in the calendar are strong and powerful women with a big impact over Hollywood industry: Nicole Kidman, Uma Thurman, Kate Winslet, Penelope Cruz, Robin Wright, Lupita Nyong´o, Lea Seydoux, Rooney Mara, Julianne More, Alicia Vikander, Charlotte Rampling, Zhang Ziyi, Jessica Chastain, Helen Mirren, but also the political theory professor from Moscow, Anastasia Ignatova.

Sometimes your mistakes are your biggest virtues. You learn so much from the mistake. Those things that you think are the worst thing that´s happening to you can somehow turn around and be the greatest opportunity.” Nicole Kidman

nicole-kidman

Before I had my child, I thought I knew all the boundaries of myself, that I understood the limits of my heart. It´s extraordinary to have all those limits thrown out, to realise your love is inexhaustible.” Uma Thurman

uma

Never, ever take it for granted. You can never stop learning. You need to keep pushing yourself, keep trying to get better at what you do, even if it scares you” Kate Winslet

kate-winstel

This is my age, this is what I look like without makeup on – who cares?”; “If you´re 50, you´re never going to be 50 ever again, so enjoy being 50.” Julianne Moore

julianne-moore

Beauty is a very complex thing that can´t be put in a cage or defined by rules. It doesn’t have to be within the parameters that society dictates. My definition of beauty is without rules. It can be the face of a beautiful 90-years-old woman that is full of stories and emotion. Beauty is what somebody´s eyes communicate.” Penelope Cruz

penelope

I think I´ve always been a follow-the-leader with my career, or maybe waiting for things to happen. Now I´m like, I´m OK-I know the direction, whoever´s on board can go with me.” Robin Wright

robin-wright-copy

What I will say is that what I have learned for myself is that I don´t have to be anybody else; and that myself is good enough; and that when I am being true to that self, then I can avail myself to extraordinary things … You have to allow for the impossible to be possible.” Lupita Nyong´o

lupita

You have to live with an open heart all time – that´s actually how you´re going to have connections with people.” Jessica Chastain

jessica-chastain

But my favourite part in my body are my dark circles. They define me. They reveal my melancholy.” Lea Seydoux

lea-seydoux-for-pirelli-calender-2017_1

I can understand wanting to be invisible and mistrusting people and wanting to understand everything before you engage with the world.” Rooney Mara

rooney-mara-for-pirelli-calender-2017_2

I love doing interviews that are about work that I do, films that I make. I am not very interested in the rest. I think I have always been quite reserved and a bit frightened of the whole thing.” Alicia Vikander

alicia-vikander-in-pirelli-calender-2017_1

If words don´t have vibration behind them, and a real feeling behind them, then they´re just words.” Charlotte Rampling

charlotte-ramping-2017-pirelli-calendar-by-peter-lindbergh-photoshoot_2

Let´s find the amazing in something that is simple, human and real. It´s dangerous because our eyes need to become re-educated. We´re used to digital-enhanced images, let´s go back to the simple truth of humanity.” Helen Mirren

helen-mirren

In China, we don´t consider someone truly beautiful until we have known them for a long time, and we know what´s underneath the skin.” Zhang Ziyi

zhang-ziyi-for-pirelli-calender-2017_2

Anastasia Ignatova, a special guest for this edition. Ignatova is the only non-actress to feature in the publication, she is a lecturer at Moscow State Institute of Political Theory, and “entrepreneur in the medical field,” according to Pirelli.

anastasia-ignatova

The photos were taking between California, New York, London, Berlin and France over a period of two months. We find in the photos a little makeup, hair styling and wardrobe, the focus is on face and expressions. The photographer brought out the best of each model, crossing over the red-carpet-face limits.

I like to see smart and powerful women on the cover of ta magazine, not just a pretty face. Actually, if we have a closer look we´ll see only a pretty photoshopped figure, without emotions, without expressive eyes. With this photos I see a story in each woman. Their eyes are a door to their soul and life experience. This are the photos that encourage everyday women, we can relate with true stories so we find inspiration for our life, the real one, not the perfect life illusion that they sell us with each magazine.

What do you think 💭? Which is your inspirational woman and why? It can be an actress, a friend, a mum … I would like to know their stories!

XOXO 💋

the stylish confident

 

3 thoughts on “Real women “Emotional”- Pirelli

Leave a Reply

